Have you ever needed to send a confidential file to a parent, teacher or student? You can protect that information with a password and expiry date while sharing it in Office 365. You can even prevent them from downloading a file. Read on for instructions (thank you Jane Rondow). I also want to share a cool tip for our Minecraft users-you can search for lessons by specific BC Learning Standards and Competencies (I know, I can’t believe it).
Today I read an interesting article that I would like to share with you. It seems that whenever we look at the news there is another huge and sometimes terrible event happening (and some good things). Many of our students see these news articles as well and you may feel a need to talk to your students about what they are seeing. This article provides some insight and resources to help you with these difficult discussions: Talking with Students about Shocking or Disturbing News
How to Password Protect a File, Add an Expire Date and Share in Office 365:
Tomorrow is May 4th – a special day for Star Wars fans. Here is an article with some great ways you can celebrate May the fourth with your class: May the 4th Be With You: Best Free Star Wars Teaching Ideas. Don’t miss the Star Wars Crawl Creator and Lessons from the New York Times.
I have been teaching a lot of lessons lately on Digital Wellness and one of the topics that I want to share with you this week is keeping the location of your photos private. If you have the Location Services turned on when you take pictures, it adds data to your photos about where they were taken. If you then publish these photos on Media, other people can look at the data and find out where your pictures where taken. This can give away your home address. Here are some instructions for turning this off on photos on iPhones and Android phones:
Iphone:
1. Go to Settings
2. Click on Privacy
3. Click on Location Services
4. Go down to Camera and click on it then select Never
5. Go Back, then go down to Photos and click on Never for that one too
Android:
1. Go to Settings
2. Click on Apps
3. Find the Camera and click on it
4. Click on Permissions
5. Turn off location here
Today’s Tech Tip is a nice simple one. Have you ever been looking at an article on the internet on your iphone/ipad and wished you could easily send the whole article to a friend or save it to look at later? All you have to do is take a screenshot, click on Full Page and share or copy it. Here is a short video to show you how:

